Mon, 6 May 2013

Man of the Year

Rod Silver (left) fresh from a well deserved holiday in the sun receives the Barsby Trophy from Ed Mankelow, Past President of the BC Wildlife Federation (and himself a past winner of the Barsby Trophy).

Saturday, April 27th was a very special day when one Roderick Sterling Silver was the deserving recipient of the BC Wildlife Federation’s Barsby Trophy. The trophy is the greatest honour the BCWF can bestow on an individual for their outstanding contribution to conservation in British Columbia over many years. Rod’s nomination was supported by many conservation leaders from across BC who personally attested to his quiet but pervasive influence in many historical and ongoing projects that continue to benefit BC’s fish and wildlife heritage, not least of which were his years as the Manager of the then Habitat Conservation Trust Fund and, since his retirement, in his current role as a Director of the Nature Trust of British Columbia.

Rod’s name has been added to a long list of previous winners – and he’s in very good company. Past Barsby Trophy winners include Ian McTaggart-Cowan, Bert Brink, Otto Langer, Peter Larkin, Ralph Shaw, Don Robinson and many more. Congratulations Rod!